Introductions - Jacobs Teen Innovation Challenge

Welcome to the Jacobs Teen Innovation Challenge! We want to get to know each of you better and help you make connections with each other. Please reply to this thread and:

• Introduce yourself

• Let us know what you are hoping to hear during the Understand webinar on January 14th

Hi Everyone!

My name is Tobey Tam. I’m a teacher in San Marcos Unified, 8th grade science. My middle school group that is in the Innovation Challenge is from Girl Scouts/Society of Women Engineers. The group has some middle school students from San Marcos and others from Rancho Penasquitos.

At the January webinar, I’m hoping to get a clear understanding of how to use Pactful - how my students are supposed to log in and submit work. And steps that are required for the challenge, what students need to submit.

Looking forward to a new year!
Tobey

2 Likes

Hello!
My name is Sarah Stratman and I teach Computer Science at Duchesne Academy in Omaha, Nebraska. I agree with Tobey’s post and would like more information on how to use Pactful for creating and submitting projects. I am also curious if there are opportunities for students to connect with other groups participating in the challenge to share what they have created.

Sarah

2 Likes

Hello!

My name is Tim Heim. I teach an Engineering Design Capstone class for seniors at Maine West High School in Des Plaines. Illinois.

I am hoping to gain some understanding in how to guide students through the Understand Phase. Great big open ended challenges allow for interesting results, but can be overwhelming. I want to make sure that I give my students enough room to explore with enough guidance to be successful.

1 Like

HI!